Skip to content

Introducing Lucy

February 16, 2012

Hi!

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind, enter if you dare.

I created the space as an outlet for all things.  I’ll start at the beginning.

How the blog got its name.

LonglostLucy came into being from the children’s nursery rhyme.

Lucy Locket lost her pocket,
Kitty Fisher found it;
Not a penny was there in it,
Only ribbon round it.

I originally wanted to MissMuffet, but there were tons already in existence.  So I looked for other female nursery rhyme characters.  There was a few Marys, the one with lamb and the contrary one.  The  one didn’t have the right feel, plus more focus was on the lamb  than the girl.  I could have gone with Mary, Mary quite contrary…but I don’t garden.  Little Polly Flinders, was whipped for getting her clothes dirty, not really the message I’d like connected to me. I could have picked Jill from ‘Jack and Jill,’ but her is a girl who throws herself down a hill after some guy, who then just gets up and walks away without giving her a second thought.  Sorry Jill, but you’re dumb.  A lot of nursery rhymes had birds and females.

  •  A bunch of birds helped a girl build a kirk in the woods
  •  A girl has a canary
  • Jenny Wren, a sick girl with a robin
  • Jenny Wren, again with a robin, this one wants to marry her
  •  Elizabeth, Elspeth, Betsy and Bess stole an egg from a nest
  • Mother goose, duh.
  • The old woman from Gloucester had a parrot.

Now the first Jenny Wren, I would have been down for. She rebukes Robin, once eating his cake and wine and recovering from her illness. I didn’t know about Jenny Wren until after I’d picked Lucy.

Lucy is said to be fashioned after a barmaid at The Cock, in Fleet Street London.  She took up with a guy, who she left once he was broke.  The man then took up with a courtesan, Kitty FIscher.  I kind of like the idea of the well to-do lady admired by so many having a barmaid’s sloppy seconds.  So appears Lucy, who had lost her ‘pocket, ‘ thus Lostlucy.  That was already taken so for the alliteration stuck long at the front and viola, LongLostLucy.

So Welcome!

Love, Lucy

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

